top of page

Our Team

Our team is working together to meet our research goals. Read on to find out more.

Professor Ksenia Dolgaleva

Group Leader

My name is Ksenia Dolgaleva; I am an Associate Professor at the University of Ottawa and a Tier 2 Canada Research Chair in Integrated Photonics. My primary affiliation is with the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Faculty of Engineering. Because I studied to become a physicist, I am also cross-appointed with the Department of Physics, Faculty of Science.

Dr. Shahram Moradi

Postdoctoral Fellow


Dr. Shahram Moradi is a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Ottawa in Ontario, Canada, with affiliation in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He is fabricating photonic integrated circuits (PICs) in the Nanofab cleanroom located in Advanced Research Complex (ARC) building. Before this role, he was doing research on high-throughput experimentations by synthesizing perovskite materials to optimize the stability and efficiency of a new class of solar cells. Shahram received his Ph.D. degree in 2023 from the University of Victoria winning the CAMTEC student breakthrough of the Month award (winner-April 2022) and Year award (Honorable Mention 2021-22). Shahram did his M.S. at the Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey, and obtained METU Thesis Award and Course Award in 2017. He did his Bachelor's degree in telecommunication majoring in Electrical and computer engineering in his home country Iran.

Dr. Laís Fujii dos Santos

Postdoctoral Fellow


Dr. Laís is currently investigating nonlinear phenomena in III-V semiconductors and fabricating plasmonic metasurfaces. She is deeply interested in using optics for developing novel computational architectures. Her background is nonlinear optics in silicon-based microcavities.

Soheil Zibod

Ph.D. Candidate

Soheil Zibod, is a Ph.D. student in Electrical Engineering at University of Ottawa. He joined the Nonlinear Photonics group in 2019. His main research is about nonlinear materials in THz region and THz spectroscopy.

Sina Aghili

Ph.D. Candidate

Sina Aghili is a PhD student at the department of electrical and computer engineering. He holds a bachelor degree in Electrical Engineering from Noshirvani University of Technology, Babol, Iran (2012), and a master degree in Optical Communication Engineering from University of Tabriz, Tabriz, Iran in 2017. He started his Ph.D. degree under Prof. Ksenia Dolgaleva’s supervision in January 2020 at the department of Electrical engineering and Computer science, University of Ottawa, Canada. His main areas of research include: Plasmonics, integrated non-linear photonics, and Laterally coupled distributed feedback (LC-DFB) lasers.

Daniel Hutama

Ph.D. Student


Daniel is a PhD student under the joint supervision of Professors Ksenia Dolgaleva and Jeff Lundeen.  His main interests are in the intersection of quantum cryptography and optical telecommunications. In addition to his thesis project in quantum key distribution hardware, Daniel is leading an initiative to develop a Canadian InP component library.

Rania Mahjoub

Ph.D. Student

I am a PhD student at the Electrical and Computer Engineering department at uOttawa under the supervision of Prof. Ksenia Dolgaleva. I joined the Nonlinear Photonics group in 2021. My research interests include semiconductor materials properties, nanotechnology and nanostructured materials. My research is focused on the nanofabrication and characterization of novel semiconductor devices.

Athulya Thulaseedharan

Ph.D. Student

photo for page 1.jpg

Athulya is pursuing PhD in Physics under the supervision of Prof Ksenia Dolgaleva. Her research focuses on microresonators and  metasurfaces.

Ozan Oner



I am a Masters student at the Department of Physics at UOttawa currently working in nonlinear characterization of Integrated Photonic Devices. I am also currently experimenting in UOttawa’s Nano Fabrication facilities where I am working on creating hybrid-integrated photonic devices based on SOI and InP.

Get in touch to meet our team.

bottom of page